Home » ABC » ABC Apologizes for Unlikable Racist Fictional Characters Fictional Racial Comments?

ABC Apologizes for Unlikable Racist Fictional Characters Fictional Racial Comments?

What the hell? ABC has to apologize for a comment made by a completely snobby racist unlikable character made to be perceived as even more unlikable by the viewers? What? I watched Nick At Night last night, zoning out on “All in the Family” while I split screened Madden ’08 on my XBOX 360 for nearly an hour. Archie Bunker and his little cronies over at the “BAH” are the most blatantly racist people to have ever graced the TV set and it was a comedy! I can’t believe why anyone would need to apologize for fiction is beyond me.

Now onto the second part of this, why the hell do these “outraged” groups keep looking for apologizes? What good does an apology do? None, except to make their self-righteous cause seem more powerful. So right now I would like to make a few apologizes to people I have offended over the years and be done with it, this is going to be very Zen-like…

1. To the family who’s very large (and I mean really large, 10 ft. long and 8 ft. tall) rocking horse in the west Moorhead Mn. area was stolen from their driveway… I apologize. It was taken at the end of the summer of 1992. I can tell you thought it was well taken care of and we named it “Pokey”. It sat in our living room for a year and was the favorite sitting place of girls who came to our parties, hundreds and hundreds of girls. Unfortunately it lost it’s structural integrity after a few “good old boys” got on and it broke it’s legs. It was humanely shot and then burned at a solemn ceremony near Detroit Lakes. Again I apologize to you if you were upset or offended in any way. Done, I feel better.

2. To the drunk guy at the J. Laurerman’s in Fargo who called our fraternity’s “Sweetheart” (a popular girl who is voted by the active members to be our “House Mom”) a bitch and was then drug out the back door by a dozen of us. The incident happened in the winter of 1993. Initially we stood there awestruck at his stupidity after he was shot down by her and then upset began streaming profanities in front of us referring to her as the “C” word but then he got all uppity with our pledge director who was the bartender. He was drug through the back delivery door and beaten with empty kegs and then was urinated on by “Z” and “AWD”. I apologize to you if you were upset or offended in any way. Done, I feel better.

So there’s my apology. I hope it help the healing process. God I feel better!

Makers of hit US television series “Desperate Housewives” have apologised for a slur against Filipino medical workers that caused an uproar in the Southeast Asian country.

The apology was sent to Philippine broadcaster ABS-CBN’s bureau in the United States and aired in the Philippines on Thursday following protests by the Manila government.

“The producers of ‘Desperate Housewives’ and ABC Studios offer our sincere apologies for any offense caused by the brief reference in the season premiere,” cable news channnel ANC quoted the statement as saying.”There was no intent to disparage the integrity of any aspect of the medical community in the Philippines,” it said.

The episode showed actress Teri Hatcher, who plays Susan Mayer, asking during a medical consultation to check “those diplomas because I want to make sure that they’re not from some med school in the Philippines.”

The apology was made a day after chief aide to Philippine President Gloria Arroyo said the line of dialogue appeared to be a “racial slur.”

Philippine Senators said the apology was not enough, and urged their Foreign Affairs Department to lodge a formal protest with the US government.

“I am mortally offended by the statement because it betrayed the racial prejudice and denigrates the excellent performance of world-class Filipino doctors in the US,” said Senator Miriam Santiago, whose sister is a doctor working in Los Angeles.

10 Comments

  1. Your Wife says:

    And another thing…
    Everyone is picking on Jeri Thompson because of the way she looks! She’s HOT…get over it! She had nothing to do with it; blame her parents for giving her great genes! That just pisses me off! I’m going to have a shirt made saying I support Jeri!!!

  2. bmac says:

    Hey, I posted on this yesterday. I demand an apology!
    (an apology that I will of course, not accept)
    But I demand it anyway!

  3. Ed says:

    Ok, since I’m in the mood…

    I apologize that you posted on this yesterday. As a penance I have added your blog entry to a trackback on my entry.

  4. Ed says:

    I have also added you to my blogroll!

  5. bmac says:

    The “Rules of Apology” dictate that I cannot accept your apology, (if in fact you offered one) however, I will also add you to my blogroll!

  6. Ed says:

    Again I apologize to you for your posting of this same subject on your own blog and I am sorry to anyone to whom I offended by your posting of said same subject on your own blog and I extend my hand to you should you need anything for posting more posts which I may also post on my own blog that may be of the same subject on your blog should you choose to do so. I have apologized and according to the stated “Rules of Apology” I will now go directly to rehab.

  7. bmac says:

    Say hello to lindsaybritneyparis for me!
    Apology not accepted!

  8. Ed says:

    I accept your not accepting my apology and apologize for apologizing.

  9. tonette osmena says:

    The writer is MARC H CHERRY, 45 yrs old. The Filipino basher is a self-proclaimed CONSERVATIVE GAY REPUBLICAN who lives since June 1, 2005 at …

  10. Ed says:

    What are you trying to say here? Are you trying to give out someone’s personal address? For what? I have edited this for now until I get a better explanation for your second half of that comment. The idea that they need to apologize is ridiculous. Are you saying that because he’s gay… I’m confused…

Leave a Reply

