Home » Bill Clinton » • (Video) Kerry on the MoveOn.org Petraeus Ad

• (Video) Kerry on the MoveOn.org Petraeus Ad

This guy just makes me sick. He’s such a hypocrite! Here is the story from CNN Political Ticker…

Kerry: MoveOn.org is ‘over the top’

WASHINGTON (CNN) – Sen. John Kerry, D-Massachusetts, criticized MoveOn.org Monday for taking an ad out in The New York Times criticizing Gen. David Petraeus. The general is testifying before Congress today about the situation in Iraq. (Related: Dems join GOP in slamming ad attacking Petraeus)

“I don’t like any kind of characterizations in our politics that call into question any active duty, distinguished general,” Kerry told CNN, adding “who I think under any circumstances serves with the best interests of our country.”

Kerry is a decorated Vietnam War veteran who was awarded two Purple Hearts. In his 2004 presidential campaign, Kerry was attacked by the group Swift Boat Veterans for Truth, who questioned his service in the war.

Kerry called the MoveOn.org ad “over the top” and specifically noted that he did not like the wording in the text.

“I didn’t like the terminology,” he said. “I didn’t like it.”

The ad shows a picture of Petraeus with the words “General Petraeus or General Betray us?”

Here he is in April 1971…

HYPOCRITE!!!

Here he is calling the troops terrorists…

HYPOCRITE!!!

Kerry Gets Pw3net

8 Comments

  1. sookiesue says:

    Ouch. Having a hard time with this one Ed. Kerry thinks it’s “over the top” to characterize General Petraeus as “General Betray us”. Would you have wanted him to agree with the characterization? Not sure how he could win in your eyes.

    I remember standing on a corner election day 2004 with a Kerry sign, and a Bush supporter screaming that Kerry had “betrayed his brothers”. I’d like to know how he betrayed them. He volunteered for service. He volunteered to go to Vietnam. He was decorated for his service. He saw things over there that were contrary to what the public was being told, and he went before congress to tell his story. Sounds like a patriot to me.

    I’d even draw the comparison to Kevin Tillman whose thoughts on the current situation are quoted here: http://www.truthdig.com/report/item/200601019_after_pats_birthday

    Is Kevin Tillman a hypocrite or betrayer of his brothers?

    Finally, regardless of your opinion of John Kerry’s politics, his service certainly stands in stark contrast to that of Bush and Cheney.

  2. Ed says:

    How do you explain his statements in the 2 videos? Is that being patriotic? Lying about his brothers in arms? Saying that…

    “I don’t like any kind of characterizations in our politics that call into question any active duty, distinguished general,” Kerry told CNN, adding “who I think under any circumstances serves with the best interests of our country…”

    … and then having video out there of him doing just that makes me sick. The fact that you voted for this scumbag makes me even sicker, not you personally of course, just that someone bought into his bullcrap. You can’t really see him as a great man can you? Sometimes I feel like the world is going crazy when you can’t see the hypocrisy!

    Now onto Bush’s service, George bush served his country. I will take a page out of your debate style… “Would you say that all people in the National Guard/Reserves are not doing their service to their country?” He was waiting to be called up and never got it. If you can show me otherwise then you are some sort of goddess because I’m pretty sure you lefties tried in the last election and failed… Dan Rather…. Not to mention that for the last few decades he’s been… wait for it… wait for it… SERVING HIS COUNTRY!

    On a side note. I like that you get on here and put your opinion out there for the world to see. I was wondering if you would like your own segment on here. I know we do not agree, but I think my readers would like a second opinion, another viewpoint other than my own. It is an invitation to write, regardless of topic, and without editing from me. No strings attached. With the exception that you cannot talk about teddy bears or lollypops, unless of course they are of the exploding variety.

  3. Sookiesue says:

    I rewatched both videos just now, and the only “hypocrisy” I can imagine is his use of “defended” instead of “served’ at the beginning of the 1st one. Other than that, I stand by my comments there. As far as a characterization of our troops being “terrorist” in the second one – well that is putting words in his mouth. If someone in a huge SUV rides on my tail at 80 mph on the interstate – that “terrorizes” me, but doesn’t make them a “terrorist”. The word “terrorist” has taken on a very specific meaning. I have seen videos of our troops doing exactly what Mr. Kerry describes, and I would have to say if someone broke into my house in the middle of the night, armed to the teeth and shouting in a language I could not understand, I would say I would definitely be “terrorized”

    On to Bush’s “service”. I cheated and went to Wikipedia for this due to time constraints, however, these should be relatively easy to prove/disprove. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_W._Bush_military_service_controversy

    1. During the 1968–1974 period, Presidents Johnson and Nixon decided against calling up National Guard units for service in Vietnam. As a result, National Guard service was widely portrayed as a way to avoid combat.

    2. In a 1994 interview, Bush stated that he joined the Guard because “I was not prepared to shoot my eardrum out with a shotgun in order to get a deferment. Nor was I willing to go to Canada. So I chose to better myself by learning how to fly airplanes.”

    Ed, I’ll have to consider the offer of my own segment. My initial response would be no, simply due to time constraints in the extremely near future. I truly appreciate it though, and I think it’s what we need to get back to: civilized exchange of ideas w/o demonizing opposing viewpoints. I think your offer indicates a similar feeling, though I would be loathe to put words in your mouth.

    Also, wouldn’t I be like one of those liberal commentators at Fox “news” then? 🙂

  4. Sookiesue says:

    Sorry Ed, one more thing. I did not vote FOR Kerry. I voted AGAINST Bush. I would have voted for ALMOST anyone else at that point.

  5. Ed says:

    First I am not even going respond to your comments as Wickipedia is worthless and well known for their inaccuracy. You get me audio or video of those 2 statements and I will post them right here.

    But as far as Kerry goes… you are equating tail-gating to people who have 14 year old boys cut off the heads of people they kidnap, they fly planes into the our buildings, they bury women up to their necks and smear them with honey and let the animals have at them for talking to a man, they arrest women in Iran for not wearing the right burka, they blow up women and children in the name of a god, they drag contractors out of their trucks, burn them, tear their bodies apart and hang them from a bridge, should I go on? You and Kerry are saying they are the same people as my own brother, a soldier in the Army who served there. You 2 cannot say that and not expect a reaction. Don’t make excuses for what he did (Scroll up, I posted another video…)

    On the writing part. It would be your own segment, on whatever you want. I want that viewpoint on here as mine is looked at at crazy talk for some reason. I am friends with a lot of liberals and when people see me they wouldn’t think I was a conservative, I guess I am the undercover kind. So if you would like to write here I would love it. I just ask they you back everything up with facts (or facts as you see fit) as well as images and video whenever possible. If you would like to discuss this more please feel free to call me. Send me an email to edgrubermanblog@gmail.com and I will give you my number.

  6. Ed says:

    It must feel so good to be on the winning side. Oh yeah… sorry…

  7. sookiesue says:

    The eardrum story – w/o purchasing the article itself, this was the closest I could get.
    http://news.google.com/archivesearch?q=the+dallas+morning+news+eardrum&hl=en&um=1&sa=N&cid=8547199667410273
    Seems likely legit.

    I was unable to find a definitive source as to the Guard’s status during Vietnam, though it appears from most of what I did find, it was generally the place to be to avoid going to Vietnam. This link is actually to the Guard site.
    http://www.virtualarmory.com/guardhistory/vietnam.aspx

    As for me saying that tailgating was equivalent to cutting heads off people… come on. I said nothing of the kind. What I did say was there was a difference is usage between a “terrorist”, and the act of being terrorized. I believe the example I gave of an armed person kicking down my door in the middle of the night would “terrorize” me. However, there is a huge difference between saying that and calling that same person a terrorist.

    Ed, trust me, we are likely on the same side as far as our viewpoints on terrorists. I imagine where we would differ is the best approach to reigning them in. A discussion for another day.

  8. Ed says:

    I’ll read that link tomorrow. As far as dealing with the terrorists… solution JDAM…

Leave a Reply

